Spring flower hunt

Spring has indeed sprung in Odense so this week I set myself a challenge! Armed with a camera and a warm jacket (it’s not summer remember!) I gave myself one hour to find and photograph as many flowers as I could. I was looking specifically for flowers growing wild, i.e. those not in anyone’s garden! I wandered from open grasslands to building sites and shady wooded areas. Then I made my way home to figure out what I found (I used two books – The Wildflower Key by Francis Rose and Dansk Flora by Frederiksen, Rasmussen and Seberg and a little help from Google!)

Daisy - Bellis perennis - Tusindfryd. This easily recognised flower belongs to the worlds largest family of flowering plants (23,000 subspecies!). It is a common grassland species and sources suggest it has many medicinal benefits and is edible!

Coltsfoot - Tussilago farfara - Følfod. Another member of the daisy family which looks like a dandelion but appears earlier. It appears to like disturbed ground where it forms clusters of 8-12 flowers with tough woolly stems.

Sweet Violet - Viola odorata - Marts-viol can be deep purple or white and is the only scented flower in this family.

Lesser Celandine - Ranunculus ficaria - Vorterod. A member of the buttercup family that likes shady places. Distinctive heart shaped leaves.

At this point I was lying on the ground trying to get close to these beautiful but low growing flowers!

Under a large beech tree a small army of lesser celandine face the sun.

Yellow Star of Bethlehem - Gagea lutea - Almindelig guldstjerne. One of the taller flowers I found (8-25cm) in a damp area. It indicates sites where ancient woodlands once existed.

Glory of the snow - Chinodoxa - Snepryd. Another member of the lily family, but native to Turkey. An early spring flower that has a star shaped head and purple leaves.

Wood Anemone - Anemone nemorosa - Hvid anemone. Finally I made it into the woods and was greeted with a carpet of small white flowers. These members of the buttercup family are also ancient woodland indicators (AWI).

Yellow wood anenome - Anemone ranunculoides - Gul anemone. A close relative to the white anenome with slightly smaller flowers.

Oxlip - Primula elatior - Fladkravet kodriver. Last but not least I came across a member of the primrose family. Oxlip is also an ancient woodland indicator and can be identified by it's leaves, which taper suddenly at the base.

Tags: , , , , ,

Let me know what you think...

