Lost in the Leaves

Odense is a leafy place, as is most of Denmark. I don’t envy the street cleaners or avid tidy gardeners, of which there are many around here. Thankfully I love leaves, and at this time of year they come crashing down to earth, within my reach, in a symphony of colour. Nature gives us the gift of a burnt orange and red crinkly carpet. I really can’t stop looking at it and I feel guilty walking on it. At the moment it is almost dangerous. I walk around with my head down and every single leaf catches my attention. The colour, the patterns – all so beautiful and unique. Each leaf is a piece of artwork, one with I plan to dedicate my next few blogs to exploring. Each tree species seems to have it’s own way of loosing green and changing colour. It really fascinates me. Why and how? I will start today with a few of last years pictures, taken within a stones throw from my house. It’s a little windy and wet to venture outside with my camera today (typical autumn weather) so I will reminisce with my hard drive and the wonderful autumn colours until the weather breaks.

A “poplar” pattern – but I did arrange the leaves.

The old Ginkgo on the grass – one of my favourite trees in Odense

Letting go of green – beech and sycamore

Red veined

What colours are on your walls?

Up close – cell by cell

Walking on autumns carpet

Leave me here to sit and watch

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Lost in the Leaves”

  1. avian101 says :

    Isn’t it fun to play with colors in Autumn? 🙂

  2. doorcountytraveler says :

    Gorgeous. Leaves are why fall is my favorite season. So beautiful!

  3. Børge says :

    Wauw! Amazing pictures with the beautiful colors of autumn ! Me to always enjoy this season! Most probably because my thoughts fly away together with the birds, Who taking to the South! Wherever do you need to go? What natural do you search there? I wait all the winter to you come back and sing a melody from the warm countries! – and so I looking forward to week 40 where we drive on family holidays up by Hadsund near Rold Skov and Lille Vildmose (Small Wild Moor)! I for sure hope the rest of the family want to go with me, or gives me the opportunity to go for little a trek out in both the areas! K.R. from Børge

Let me know what you think...

